About Uzbekistan

About Uzbekistan

The Republic of Uzbekistan declared independence on September 1, 1991. The prioirities of the emerging nation were topped by a drive towards the foundation of a free democratic society governed by market economy. The Republic of Uzbekistan is now recognized by more than 165 states, and diplomatic relations have been established with more than 120. The embassies of more than 40 countries and many authorized international non-governmental agencies have set up their offices in Tashkent, the capital of the country. Uzbekistan is represented around the world through 25 embassies and 10 consulates. The country joined the UN in March 1992. 

Since the first days of independence, the Uzbek government has strived to serving its people’s interests and providing social, political and economic stability.

At present, Uzbekistan maintains commercial and economic ties with more than 140 countries. More than 3800 joint ventures operate in the country and the total volume of exported goods has recently increased by 1,5 times.

Support to on-going reforms in the economic and social spheres is provided by the international financial bodies.

Uzbekistan is developing its cooperation with well-known international organizations such as the EU, OSCE, NATO and is strengthening mutually beneficial bilateral relations with many countries of Europe, America, Asia, Africa, and the countries of the CIS. 

Country name: Conventional long form: Republic of Uzbekistan
Conventional short form: Uzbekistan
local long form: O'zbekiston Respublikasi
local short form: O'zbekiston
Government type: Republic
Capital: Tashkent (Toshkent)
Administrative divisions: 12 provinces (viloyatlar, singular - viloyat), 1 autonomous republic* (respublika), and 1 city** (shahar); Andijon Viloyati, Buxoro Viloyati, Farg'ona Viloyati, Jizzax Viloyati, Namangan Viloyati, Navoiy Viloyati, Qashqadaryo Viloyati (Qarshi), Qaraqalpog'iston Respublikasi* (Nukus), Samarqand Viloyati, Sirdaryo Viloyati (Guliston), Surxondaryo Viloyati (Termiz), Toshkent Shahri**, Toshkent Viloyati, Xorazm Viloyati (Urganch)
Independence:  1 September 1991
National holiday: Independence Day, 1 September (1991)
Constitution: New constitution adopted on December 8th, 1992
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal